Hello beautiful family and friends! 

Well I'm here in Pasadena California and I love it so much! I have sooooooooo much to tell you and I was also going to send you pictures but I forgot my camera cord, I will have to remember next time. 

I saw my first palm tree and can't get over how tall they are. It's so beautiful here. A little colder then I imaged going to California but it's still warmer then Utah :) 



My new companion is Sister Fleming from Minnesota, she is very nice and I'm really happy that she is excited about the work as well. She keeps saying that she has never been so busy so I'm glad that the business of Temple Square has continued to stay with me. We've been contacting a lot of people and teaching everyone we talk to, it's so much fun! One thing that I really, really love is entering someone's home and noticing a difference as we testify and share scriptures. For example we stopped by a house last night that was on the ward list. The family of 5 haven't been to church in years so we thought it would be nice to go over and share a short message with the family. When we got there everyone was a little busy, on the computer or doing their own thing. The little girl (2 years old) who ran away when we got there ended up giving us hugs as we left. It was an amazing experience seeing the family all gather around as we read scriptures and prayed with them. The father told us his testimony of how he really knows this is the true church. It's so funny to me that I can be so happy and so filled with the Spirit as a little girl throws toys at my face yet as soon as we opened the Book of Mormon she came and sat still right beside us. I am so super happy and I love sharing the gospel with others. We are going to go over later in the week and hold a Family Home Evening with the family. 

We also found a new investigator this week. Peter from Barbados, both his parents are members and he has seen a change in them as they found the church. He is going through a hard time right now moving to a new place and so he is very willing to learn more about the gospel. We did a church tour with him the other night and it was so good. 
The tours at the church building are conducted quite a bit different from Temple Square so I'm not sure if I threw in to many "new things" but Sister Fleming was happy and Peter and the members we brought with us felt the Spirit so it was good. He came to church this week too. 


I wish I had time to tell you about all the miracles we've seen this week and the many ways the Heavenly Father is blessing us for our obedience and diligence. Sister Fleming keeps saying she's never seen so many miracles in a week so I'm really looking forward to next week to see what is in store. I'm happy that I don't know a difference and all I see is the constant need to engaged in a good cause.  

I haven't met the mission President yet. I met Sister Becerra though and she is really nice. She was the one that picked up Sister Yoon and I from the airport. She took us out to lunch and got to know us a little better. Everyone had TONS of questions about Temple Square so I hope I am doing an okay job of representing the mission well. I forgot how before being a missionary on Temple Square how little I knew about what the missionaries did there. I feel like I have two homes B.C and Temple Square and I can't talk about where I'm from without mentioning the other. 

The people here are really nice and we have a dinner appointment almost every day which I love! We share short lessons and scriptures with members all the time on Temple Square but there is something really special about being in someone's home, being able to take a bit of time to get to know them better and then really teach according to their needs. 



There was one dinner appointment we had the other day where the wife is a member but the husband is not but he has a lot of questions that we can answer for him. We are going to go back and teach him this week, all he needed was someone to ask him if he wanted to learn more. I know that he can come to know that these things are true for himself. I love that as missionaries we don't convert people but that they come converted to Heavenly Father and that we are the guides to help them know how they can come to know that the things we teach are true for themselves.

Excerpt from my letter to the mission president-
"...This has been a fantastic week and I'm so happy that I get a chance to be a part of this mission for a few months. I've heard only good things about you from my companion so I am looking forward to getting a chance to meet you. I feel I am adjusting well to the few changes that come from being in a new mission and I'm grateful for the kind and loving companion I have to help me transition well.  We have seen a lot of miracles this week, I know that Heavenly Father blesses his missionaries as long as we remain obedient and strive to do better each day. My goal while I am here is to make the most of it, to have faith and to "work, work, work because there is no satisfactory substitute especially in missionary work"(Preach My Gospel)...."

 Oh by the way. If you have sent me a letter to Temple Square it will get forwarded to me but I don't get to check the mail every day. like on Temple Square, it's about every week or sometimes every 2 weeks the mail gets checked so if you don't hear back from me in a while that's why. 

I love you all soooooooooooo MUCH also...

HAPPY BIRTHDAY NATHAN

Much love;


Sister Turner




Leave a Reply.