Hi Family and Friends!!!

I hope you are all well and happy!  I'm super happy right now because we woke up at 5:30am and went for a hike with the zone! I loved it! It was so beautiful. I'm sad because I forgot my camera cord so I can't show you how pretty it is here. I so want to come back to California one day. I see L.A every day but I can't go because it's not in my area.  There is one street we were driving up last night to go to a members house and on the way back down there was a beautiful sea of lights as far as I could see and then the skyscrapers of L.A int he midst of the twinkling lights. It was an amazing view!  One day I will come back and go to L.A, the Hollywood sign is like 15 mins away but not in our area so we can't go. 

It's a little colder up here because we are closer to the mountains than we were in Pasadena but it's still nice and we are enjoying it here. It is a little harder to find people to teach here because it is a very rich area but we are trying to reach out to the ward members. We want to visit everyone in the ward directory active or less-active and try to find people to teach. That is something that make me more grateful to be on Temple Square because the difficulty of finding people is cut in half. We still need to go up to people and start talking to them but on Temple Square they've already made the first step by coming to us. 

We did a fun finding activity on Saturday. The other sisters in our district and my companion and I went to one of the main streets and drew the Plan of Salvation with sidewalk chalk and talked to people as they walked by. It was so fun! IT was a beautiful sunny day and we had a few people who were interested in what we were doing. There are so many more ways to find people then simply tracting. Actually I've seen more success talking to people on the street rather then knock on their door. The best way to find people to teach is when members invite their friends over while the missionaries are there for dinner. 

I read "The Fourth Missionary" by Elder Corbridge again this week because I needed to refocus on my mission. Not that I wasn't focused but lately there was a lot of times I found my thoughts drifting to "what I would do when... " kind of thoughts instead of focusing on the here and now and the work that I need to be doing. There is a great work to be done as a missionary and I will only have this experience once. I don't want to waste any of it by focusing too much on the future. I'm here to serve and invite others to come unto Christ not to figure out my future. There will be enough time for that when I get home. Right now I'm in California, I have a great companion who is very sweet and loving with everyone and I can learn a lot from her. She has great charity for people, more than I've probably seen in anyone before I want to learn to develop that kind of Christlike love. I want to truly love people before I even meet them and when I do meet them I want to still be able to love as the Savior would and does. I don't want to judge or think negativity of anyone. I've never been one to enjoy gossiping or saying bad things about others to people but it doesn't mean I don't mentally judge people when they do and say things differently then I would. I know I can change and become more like Christ as I strive to develop this kind of love. I can change because that is what this life is for, we are always changing that is the process of life, if I let my will become the Lords will I will be able to change for the better. 

We had a miracle this week! One of the less-active women in the ward who hasn't come to church in 6 months came to church this past Sunday after we visited her. It was so nice to see that our efforts as missionaries continue to progress. We have been really focusing on the less-active ward members and helping them understand the importance of coming out to church and partaking of the sacrament and going to other Sunday meetings. 

Sarah thank you for the letter and delicious chocolate :) I was going to send a happy picture with it but it's already all gone. Hope your enjoying your new house. Happy (late) Birthday to Benjamin! I hope he gets my card soon. I wasn't able to mail it on Monday because our mailbox locks too and we don't have the key to it. What did you do for the party?

Lyra your birthday is coming up! What are you going to do? 

I love you all sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo MUCH! I wish I could send you some sunshine but hopefully your February hasn't been too cold. 

Love, Sister Turner 



Leave a Reply.