Hello family and friends!
How I love you all so much! This will be my last email from California. I fly out at 10am on Wednesday back to Utah. I'm excited but will miss the wonderful people here. People keep asking me what mission I like better and they are so different and great in their own ways I can't decide. I am so grateful to have had both experiences, from the wonderful opportunities I've had being here I really know that the Lord wanted me to come to this place at this time. Through helping others I've learned a lot about myself and who I want to be. I know I will continue to learn while I'm on Temple Square.

Oh before I forget I'm not sure when my next p-day will be because of the transfer on Temple Square but it is possible that it could be this Wed, Thurs, Fri or Sat so you might get two emails from me this week. If not you'll here from me Mon or Tues of next week. 

The Temple was so beautiful! I couldn't get over how BIG the L.A Temple is. I really loved being able to go and it was a really neat session because it was the ASL (American Sign Language) session and it was neat to watch them doing the sign language for everything. I love the Temple! I sometimes forget the sweet Spirit that is in the Temple when I haven't gone for a while and I just feel like something is missing, then I am reminded of the feeling when I go again. There is nothing quite like it. I'm grateful that I've been in areas where I can visit the Temple and especially on Temple Square where I can go every 6 weeks. Heavenly Father knows us so well and knows what we need. 

I also got to go to the visitors center and it was really neat to be on the other end of the tour.    I forget the sisters at the visitors center names but they were very sweet and gave us a beautiful tour. We went with Brother and Sister Bond, they are so awesome.

I'm so grateful for the experience I've had in the Arcadia mission. I feel like my time has gone by so quickly but at the same time I've been able to take in so much. There are a few main lessons that I've either learned or relearned while I have been here that I am so grateful for. 
When we focus on others that is when we are able to become more like the Savior. When we become more like the Savior we are able to use more of our inherited Godlike qualities for good and we have more of a desire to do good and to be good. 


Forget myself, go to work, and be myself! I don't know if that makes sense but essentially what I mean is realizing that I need to be myself and not what I think a "typical missionary" is. The more I am able to allow my personality to develop the happier I am and the more I am able to forget thinking about myself and focus on helping other people. 


Humility is an attribute we need to continually work to be able to access the Atonement in our every day lives. Humility is not a sign of weakness but a sign of Spiritual strength. 


I'm sure there is more I have learned, that is what I was able to think of at the moment that has really stuck out to me. More then anything I've learned I am most grateful to have been a small part in helping Peter enter the waters of baptism and to be able to witness his spiritual change. I love the people I've been able to help in anyway to get back into church and I am able to feel a small part of what the Savior must feel as he is able to see His lost sheep return to the fold of God. What a wonderful experience! I'm so happy I'm on a mission!

I love you all very much! You are always in my prayers 
Love, Sister Turner

P.S Lyra's birthday looks like it was so much fun! Did you get my card Lyra? I love you! Amanda I've been thinking about you this past week, you are an amazing sister. 
P.S.S I have the greatest family ever!
Denise Bascom
4/21/2013 04:34:55 pm

Thanks for sharing your daughters adventures. We are from Salt Spring Island. We moved to SE Alberta this summer. My DD is going into the MTC on Wed. She will be joining your daughter on TSQ. she will be presenting the tours in ASL. LOVE this post as I served as an ASL missionary in LA. Brings back fond memories. Sister missionaries ROCK!

Reply



Leave a Reply.