Hello family and friends,


 :)Another week has just flown by. Sometimes I wonder where the time is going! It's August tomorrow! Anyway it's been a great week. I love having the opportunity to train a new missionary. Sister Creal is so great and we are learning a lot from each other. As I've been training I've been learning a lot about myself too. It is so important to love unconditionally. Lately I've done a lot better with loving the moment and not anticipating the next thing. I've never really had that before in my life and it is wonderful. 

I finally got to introduce the Joseph Smith movie this week. I loved it because it reminded me of when I was younger (9 or 10 I think) when we first came to Utah and watched Legacy. I could remember being there when the Sisters opened the movie and I it was a neat experience to be able to do it myself (I've introduced other movies but this was the fist time in the BIG theater - the other theaters only seat about 200). Heavenly Father truly blesses his missionaries. I would never have thought I could get up in front of the theater with 500 seats and introduce a movie and bare my testimony with absolutely no fear. Also to take around bus loads of people from all over the world and all different backgrounds and tell them that I know this church is true and not worry about it but rather be excited. I love faith and how it truly is an action word! 


Oh I also had a neat opportunity of doing the "pin drop" demonstration for the Grow family reunion in the Tabernacle. Henry Grow was the bridge builder who designed the roof and made it so it is acoustically perfect. Brigham Young knew there was an echo under a bridge and that sound would carry if they designed it that way. Anyway they had a big family reunion this past weekend so I got to do the pin drop for lots of people and I loved it! It was very much a once in a lifetime opportunity. 


This has been a fun week. On Saturday the mission went up to a girls camp in Brighten Canyon. Well half the mission went from 6am-1pm and the other half from 1:30pm -8pm. It was so fun. They had a zip line and balancing games. I love the Temple Square mission. It is so unique and they treat us so well. We work hard, I've heard it's the only mission where you only get two 1/2 hour lunch and dinner breaks and you are constantly teaching all day but I love the busy-ness in the summer. I have pictures I will send.


So how is all my lovely family doing? It sounds like you are all very busy with summer activities :) It sounds great though! 


I forgot to mention about my new roommates- I live in a basement of a house now with 8 missionaries upstairs and 6 downstairs. Our roommates are from the USA, China and Mexico. Lots of different languages and yummy food :) They are all very sweet.
Mom and dad it sounds like you are going to have fun on the youth Temple trip! What a wonderful way to go the Temple! Have a great time :) 


I always have so much to say during the week and then I sit down to the computer and never know what to write about. 


The weather has been nice. I'm getting used to the extreme heat! One more month of HOT weather, well maybe September will be hot too but not as bad I don't think. 



Oh dear I'm talking about the weather. Hmm what else. Well like I said Sister Creal is so great an she is learning so fast. She's so great. We work hard together and I love it. There is never a tour missed or an appointment delayed. This is a great work. I think the best thing a leader can do is lead by example. How can I teach her to be an effective missionary and to take every opportunity to serve if I'm not willing to do the same thing? I so love teaching and serving - my companion, missionaries , members and investigators. 

I'm going to try to send you some pictures now. 


Thank you for your letters and emails :) It is wonderful to hear from you and I love you sooooooooooooooo MUCH!


Love Sister Turner  
Sharon Mangham
8/6/2012 08:43:24 am

Sister Turner your messages are so uplifting. You are an inspiration to me. Your love and devotion and faith is awesome. It must be life changing to be a full time missionary and to share the gospel with so many people who come to Temple Square. Keep up the great work and God be with you.
Love
Sharon Mangam

Reply



Leave a Reply.